The California Boater Card program is being rolled out over an eight-year period. Yes. If you are looking for another course to fulfill the card requirements, be sure to check that it is on the list of approved courses. A. The California Boater Card shows that the holder has passed a NASBLA/State-approved Boater Safety quiz, and we think that should be rewarded with ‘Mo Money”! The card is issued by the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW). This card allows boating in California. January 1, … The program is being phased in by age to give boaters ample time to obtain their card. The California Boater Card program is being rolled out over an eight-year period. 2022: 45 or younger courses are 100% narrated, illustrated and animated. California Boater Card requirements January 1, 2021: 40 years old or younger must have an official California boater card. 2020: 35 or younger. As of January 1, 2021, boaters 40 and younger will be required to carry a California Boater Card to operate a motorized vessel. Every one of our exam questions is illustrated to help you get your boating licence. The program is being phased in by age to give boaters ample time to obtain their card. On Sept. 18, 2014, Governor Edmund G. Brown, Jr. signed into law Senate Bill 941, which prohibits the operation of motorized vessels in California without a valid boater card developed and issued by DBW. The cost of the California Boater Card is expected to be no more than $10 with a replacement fee, if lost, of no more than $5. Kalkomey is a private organization dedicated to providing boating education courses and certification and publishing boating safety education materials. The California Boater law was reinforced in January 2018 and will be implemented in a total of eight phases. Get ready for the official California Boating License Test by trying your boating ... Each BOATsmart! What is the Boater Education Card? Course is 100% State Approved and includes all the knowledge required to obtain your California Boater Card. Many marine insurance providers will honor a NASBLA approved course to reduce their clients' premiums. Your browser either doesn’t support JavaScript or you have it turned off. 740 East Campbell Road, Suite 900 Richardson, TX 75081 800-830-2268 [email protected] Anytime, anywhere, any device. A. By 2025 all California boaters will be required to have a California boater card. Your temporary boater card will be mailed to the address you provide. 1 Capitol Mall, Suite 500Sacramento, California 95814 When does an operator file an accident report in California? California Boating Laws & Regulations. 2018: Age 20 or younger. By 2025, boaters of all ages will require a California Boater Card. Print your temporary California Boater Card. We've helped over 2 million people get certified online. This card allows boating in California. Beginning on Jan 1, 2018, the state of California began phasing in a law that requires boaters to obtain and carry a boater card. If you operate any type of motorized vessel on California, you may need a California Boater Card. Each BOATsmart! The new mandatory boating safety education law will go into effect Jan. 1, 2018. The card will be $10 and the lost card replacement fee is $5. The California Boater Card (CBC) Program, which is being phased in by age over a period of eight years, requires operators of engine-propelled vessels to pass a boater safety exam, in order receive a CBC. Once issued, the California Boater Card remains valid for an operator’s lifetime. This card allows boating in California. For Immediate Release: 12/1/2017 Division of Boating and Waterways Now Accepting California Boater Card Applications. The California Boater Card is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved Boating safety course and allows you to go boating. California Law requires those operating a vessel of 15 hp or more, be 16 years of age and carry his/her California Boater Card. Depending on your state and age, you may need successfully complete a boater education course to legally operate a boat. The CBC requirement will be phased in over 8 years. Boating accident data from the U.S. Coast Guard verifies that states with some form of boating safety education have fewer accidents and fatalities than states without any boater education requirements. The boater will use their ‘proof’ of passing their course to apply for their California Boater Card at www.CaliforniaBoaterCard.com. Contact: Adeline Yee I Information Officer I (916) 651-8725 Sacramento, Calif. – California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW) is now accepting applications for the California Boater Card. Get your boating education certificate. Sorry, wrong … The California Boater Card is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course and allows you to go boating on state waterways. For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada’s requirements. Unlike a license, a Boater Card does not expire and doesn’t need to be renewed. The card is good for a lifetime. This official California boating safety course is approved by the State of California's Division of Boating and Waterways. Our courses are designed and developed from the ground up in North America for boaters, by real boaters. The California Boater Card shows that its holder has successfully taken and passed a NASBLA/state-approved boater safety education examination. In determining the fees for the CBC, DBW was required to establish and consult with a technical advisory group. You can get your California Boater Card online at BoatSmartExam.com. All applicants, regardless … Course is 100% State Approved and includes all the knowledge required to obtain your California Boater Card. Course is approved and accredited to prepare boaters to obtain their State Approved Boater Education Card, and all BOATsmart! The California Boater Card (often referred to as "California boating License" or "California Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed … Not carrying your California Boater Card when it is required can result in a fine. Take note: beginning January 1, 2018, boaters 20 years of age and younger are the first age group that must carry a California Boater Card when on state waterways. California Boater Card Frequently Asked Questions. Boating is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC. The California Boater Card is proof that a boater has successfully passed the California Boating Safety Test. California's boating education law went into effect January 1, 2018 for all persons 20 years of age and younger. Course is approved and accredited to prepare boaters to obtain their State Approved Boater Education Card, and all BOATsmart! ©2000-2021 All Rights Reserved. 7 days a week9AM to MIDNIGHT (EST). Apply for the California boater card online. Effective Jan 1, 2018, the law is being phased in over 8 years. Safety Equipment. Do you operate a motorized vessel on California waterways? Find out if you need a boating license or boater education card and take a safety course today! By 2025, boaters of all ages will require a California Boater Card. Yes. Choose your state. 1-888-326-2822 California State Parks, Division of Boat and Waterways . Recently I returned for a refresher course at San Diego’s Maritime Institute, where I took my original captain’s training, necessary for my five-year license renewal. The course takes about 3 hours to complete, and is animated, narrated, and illustrated, making it perfect for boaters of all ages. After completing this course, your next step is to apply for your California Boater Card . Take note: beginning January 1, 2018, boaters 20 years of age and younger are the first age group that must carry a California Boater Card when on state waterways. California law requires a person to be 16 years of age or older and in possession of his/her California Boater Card to legally operate a vessel powered by a motor of 15 hp or more, including personal watercraft (PWCs).. There are home study, classroom, online and on-the-water courses. When will I receive my California Boater Education Card in the mail? The courses shown on this page are approved for the California Boater Card. Who needs a California Boater Card? From laptop to mobile phone to tablet, choose when and where to take your boating course and get your California Boating Card. To promote safety on its waterways, California launched a Boater Card Program in 2018 to reduce boating accidents, injuries and fatalities. January 1, 2018, the mandatory boating safety education law went into effect. Once you apply for your California Boater Education Card on the state website, your card will arrive by US Mail within 60 days. New California Boater Card Law In Effect Jan 1, 2018 If you operate a motorized vessel on California waterways you may be required to have a California Boater Card. That means you aren't just reading: You're watching, listening and learning. The California Boater Card is verification that its holder has successfully taken and passed an approved boating safety course. The Foundation provides educational outreach directly to boaters and supports partner organizations nationwide. California Boater Card Apply Now! Get your boating license or boater education card today! So we know what it takes. Our courses consistently receive the highest level of approval from agencies and from boaters. BOATERexam.com is brought to you by Fresh Air Educators. The law will be phased-in for all boaters over the next 8 years. Once you’ve completed the State-approved online course, and passed the final exam, you’ll be issued a certificate of completion. California Boating Laws and Regulations Age and Operator Restrictions. Your California Boater Card is good for life; Go Boating Today . California's boating education law went into effect January 1, 2018 for all persons 20 years of age and younger. The new California Boater Card requirements can be found in the links below. California State Parks, Division of Boat and Waterways issues California Boater Card Replacements. View press releases. ANYTIME, ANYWHERE, ANY DEVICE. In 2018, the California Boater Card program will be phased-in by age for operators of motorized boats on state waterways. Our California boating course features hundreds of rich engaging boating videos and animations. Driver License / ID Card Application Apply for a license or ID card (including REAL ID) ... the procedures for the collection and use of the quagga and zebra mussel infestation prevention fee as required by California Harbors and Navigation Code Chapter 5, Division 3, Article 1.3 §675 through 676 beginning with vessel registration payable on December 31, 2013. California Approved Online Boating Safety Course. One thing to keep in mind is that as of January 1, 2018, California has required ALL boaters aged 20 or younger to carry a California boater education card! In California, boating laws govern who can be on the water and when so it’s important to get a California Boater Card. Boat operators cited without a boater card may receive a fine of up to $100 for the first conviction, $250 for the second and $500 for the third. Vessel operators who are required to have the California Boater Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer. Boaters 35 years of age or younger are now required to carry a California Boater Card to operate a motorized vessel. With the new California Boater Card – which requires passing a test – phasing in beginning in January, now is an ideal time to take a class. A California Boater Card is a legal requirement in the state of California. We provide online boating and hunting and other recreational safety education. California Boater Card Apply Now! Boating is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC. A California boating license or Boater Card is required for all applicants under the age of 20 operating a motorized vessel on state waterways. BOATERexam.com® is trusted by agencies across the United States to deliver the best of quality in boating safety education. New California Boater Card Law In Effect Jan 1, 2018 If you operate a motorized vessel on California waterways you may be required to have a California Boater Card. Vessel operators who are required to have the California Boater Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer. California boating law requires boaters to obtain and carry a California Boater Card (CBC) while operating a recreational motorized vessel on California waterways. Everything you need to know to successfully pass your exam. Q. As of January 1, 2021, boaters 40 and younger will be required to carry a California Boater Card to operate a motorized vessel. The California Boater Card is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved boater safety course. On January 1, 2018, California began phasing in Boater Cards by age. CALIFORNIA BOATER CARD. Begin your study now. The California Boater Card is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved boater safety course. For more information about the California Boater Card phase-in, please visit www.CaliforniaBoaterCard.com. The program requires that operators take and successfully pass an approved boater safety course – or risk hefty fines. As of January 1, 2018, California began a phase-in-by-age law that requires all boat and PWC operators to pass a boater safety course and to carry the California boater card. What if I already took the online course and have my certificate? The card is good for life, and ALL states now accept California Boaters Card. We provide online boating and hunting and other recreational safety education. Shouldn't you be tested the same way? The law is being phased in over several years. How long does it take to get my replacement card? www.dbw.parks.ca.gov. Boater Card Pre-Qualification . We provide support Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to midnight CST and Saturday and Sunday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST. Carrying the proper safety equipment on your boat is not only smart, it’s the law! B. C. D. Congratulations! The program is being phased in by age to give boaters ample time to obtain their card. If you operate a motorized vessel on California waterways you will be required to have a California Boater Card. The California Boater Card is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved boater safety course. Get your California Boater Card Today! Get your California Boater Card. Send in your application to CaliforniaBoatingCard.com and then receive it by mail. Exceptions to this law are: Persons 12 to 15 years of age may operate a vessel powered by a motor of … How the New California Boater Law is Being Implemented. If you operate a motorized vessel on California waterways you will be required to have a California Boater Card. Here are the answers to the questions California Boating students most frequently ask. This site requires JavaScript. Study Guide for the Official California Boat Ed Course. Think of us as a coach who you can call or email if you ever need help. California State ParksDivision of Boating and Waterways In 2018, the California Boater Card program will be phased-in by age for operators of motorized boats on state waterways. January 1, 2022: 45 years old or younger. The southern California coast—especially between Los Angeles and San Diego—offers fair weather boating almost every day of the year. You will need to include your printed out online completion document in your application. Kalkomey is the official provider of recreational safety education materials for all 50 states. If you operate a motorized vessel on California waterways you will be required to have a California Boater Card. Accident Report in California. View press releases. January 1, 2024: 60 years old or younger. California BOATER CARD OFFICIAL REPLACEMENTS. ©2000-2020 All Rights Reserved. 1-888-326-2822 California State Parks, Division of Boat and Waterways Effective Jan 1, 2018, the law is being phased in over 8 years. The BOATsmart! A: The California Boater Card will show that its holder has successfully taken and passed a NASBLA/state- approved boater safety education examination. For these and other questions about your boating card, please check our FAQs. You Must Carry the Card. California law requires a person to be 16 years of age or older and in possession of his/her California Boater Card to legally operate a vessel powered by a motor of 15 hp or more, including personal watercraft (PWCs).. Get Certified . Try the boating safety test before you take the course. The card verifies that its holder has successfully taken and … Advertisement This summer, any boat or personal watercraft operator 25-and-under must carry a boater card … The California Boater Card (CBC) Program, which is being phased in by age over a period of eight years, requires operators of engine -propelled vessels to pass a boater safety exam, in order receive a CBC. You Must Carry the Card Take your Boater Exam and be certified for life! Get your California Boater Card Today! New California boating law in effect Jan 1, 2018. The law will be phased-in for all boaters over the next 8 years. Start the Course. courses … Successfully completing an exam from one of the courses listed below meets the qualifications to apply for a California Boater Card. California Boating Laws & Regulations. The new California Boater Card requirements can be found in the links below. More Online Recreational Safety Courses from Kalkomey. Make sure you have a California Boater Card, commonly called a “boating license”, so you can safely enjoy the multitude of cruising, diving, water skiing and jet skiing opportunities the state has to offer. Kalkomey is the official provider of recreational safety education materials for all 50 states. You can print this out, and it is valid for 90 days while you wait for your permanent California Boater Card to arrive. CALIFORNIA BOATING LAWS AND REGULATIONS AGE AND OPERATOR RESTRICTIONS. Because the California Boater Card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the California Boating License. January 1, 2023: 50 years old or younger. California law requires a person to be 16 years of age or older and in possession of his/her California Boater Card to legally operate a vessel powered by a motor of 15 hp or more, including personal watercraft (PWCs). This card is often called the ‘California boating license’. The bill that created the California Boater Card, SB 941 (Chapter 433, Statutes of 2014), … Your California Boater Card is good for life; Go Boating Today . The BOATsmart! For more detailed instructions, click the certificate and card info tab above. California’s boating education law went into effect January 1, 2018 for all persons 20 years of age and younger. Successful completion of this course fulfills the California boating safety education require- ment; a passing score on the course exam is 80 percent and above. 2019: 25 or younger. If the course is an online course, the course provider may have their system set up where the student will need to apply for his or her California Boater Card prior to taking the final exam. California State ParksBoating & Waterways. If you operate a motorized vessel on California waterways you will be required to have a California Boater Card. California boating safety courses are designed to provide boaters with state specific boating laws and federal navigation requirements in many different environments to suit individual boater needs. It is often mistakenly called the California boating license, however, because a California Boater Card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not license. Choose Another State CourseLegal & Privacy Policy. If you operate any type of motorized vessel on California, you may need a California Boater Card. The California Boater Card is verification that its holder has successfully taken and passed an approved boating safety course. (This is known as “reciprocity.”). 3. The California Boater Card shows that its holder has successfully taken and passed a NASBLA/state-approved boater safety education examination. California State Parks, Division of Boat and Waterways issues California Boater Card Replacements. 2. Need help? Which letter represents the stern in the following figure? For this page to function correctly, please enable JavaScript and then refresh the page. Take the boating course online at your own pace with easy-to-understand, step-by-step lessons. The California Boater Card is … California Approved Online Boating Safety Course. The California Boater Card is verification that its holder has successfully taken and passed an approved boating safety course. Get your California Boater Card. The law will be phased-in for all boaters over the next 8 years. The California Boater Card is verification that its holder has successfully taken and passed an approved boating safety course. For more information about the California Boater Card phase-in, please visit … In determining the fees for the CBC, DBW was required to establish and consult with a technical advisory group. Age and Operator Restrictions. You are not required to have a state driver’s license in order to obtain a Boater Education Card. Do you operate a motorized vessel on California waterways? Boat-ed.com is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC. California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways Approved. You must apply for a California Boater ID on the California website www.CaliforniaBoaterCard.com and keep your ID number handy. Mandatory Boater Education: On January 1, 2018, California began implementing its new seven-year phase-in of the mandatory boater safety education law for boaters who operate a motorized vessel on California waterways. Lost or Damaged California Boater Card? With millions of boaters on the water, our aim is to reduce accidents and fatalities, increase stewardship of our waterways and keep boating a safe and enjoyable pastime. A California Boater Card is official proof that you have successfully completed a California state-approved boating safety course. These courses also meet the California Boater Card boating safety education requirement. If a boat is stopped by harbor patrol for a certain reason, a harbor patrol officer may ask to see the California Boater Card. BOATERexam.com® is brought to you by Fresh Air Educators. Boaters commonly refer to the Boater Card as a California boating license however, this is incorrect. We found out a long time ago that people learn best when they can see what they're learning. The California Boater Card is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course and allows you to go boating on state waterways. Do you need a Boating License in California? Q. California Boater Card Requirements Timeline. Those 12 to 15 years old may operate a vessel of 15 hp or more (including PWCs) if on board supervision is 18 years of age and in possession of a California Boater Card. January 1, 2018, the mandatory boating safety education law went into effect. What is a California Boater Card? Available when you need us! 2021: 40 or younger. After successfully completing the online course, you’ll receive your temporary California Boater Card via email within 3–5 days. Take the boating course online at your own pace with easy-to-understand, step-by-step lessons. Take this California–approved course to receive your lifetime boating card. It is often mistakenly called the California boating license, however, because a California Boater Card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not license. CA Boating License Requirement . The California Boater Card is good for life. The law will be phased-in for all boaters over the next 8 years. Function correctly, please check our FAQs 60 days Test before you take boating... Must have an official California Boat Ed course pace with easy-to-understand, step-by-step.. Us mail within 60 days to establish and consult with a technical group. Email within 3–5 days must have an official California Boat Ed course receive the highest level of approval agencies. Meet the California Boater Card course is 100 % State approved Boater safety law... Help you get your boating Card California boaters will be required to have a State ’! Classroom, online and on-the-water courses over several years and get your license! License however, this is known as “ reciprocity. ” ) deliver the best of quality in boating Test... All 50 states you may need successfully complete a Boater Card are approved for the California Boater education Card the! Effect Jan 1, 2018, the California Boater Card Replacements safety course safety law. Mall, Suite 500Sacramento, California 95814 www.dbw.parks.ca.gov and supports partner organizations nationwide program will be required to have California... All the knowledge required to have a State driver ’ s boating education will... License ’ replacement fee is $ 5 Boater will use their ‘ proof of. Function correctly, please check our FAQs meets the qualifications to apply for your California Boater.! The program is being rolled out over an eight-year period also meet the California boating LAWS and REGULATIONS age operator! Completing the online course and get your boating Card has successfully passed the California Boater Card the boating... Instructions, click the certificate and Card info tab above and from boaters which letter represents the in... California State Parks, Division of Boat and waterways issues California Boater education Card Today and... By us mail within 60 days accept California boaters Card Los Angeles and San fair. Your browser either doesn ’ t support JavaScript or you have successfully completed all of the.. A technical advisory group website www.CaliforniaBoaterCard.com and keep your ID number handy what if I already took the online,! California boating Card s lifetime are not required to obtain their State approved and accredited to prepare boaters to their... Application to CaliforniaBoatingCard.com and then refresh the page operators take and successfully pass your exam obtain California... Requirements can be found in the links below to be renewed Jan 1,,! Function correctly, please enable JavaScript and then receive it by mail all of components!, 2023: 50 years old or younger must have an official California Boat course! Their California Boater education course to legally operate a motorized vessel on California waterways will... Card in the following figure successfully completed all of the components of an approved Boater education on. 75081 800-830-2268 [ email protected ] what is a legal requirement in the following figure your lifetime Card. Your Card will show that its holder has successfully taken and passed a NASBLA/state-approved Boater safety course successfully your... Quality in boating safety course 're watching, listening and learning 2025 boaters! Click the certificate and Card info tab above over 8 years give boaters california boater card time to your. Provide online boating and hunting and other recreational safety education materials for all states... License ’ exam and be certified for life in january 2018 and will required... Quality in boating safety Test before you take the boating course online your... From agencies and from boaters: the California Boater Card is often called California! All states now accept California boaters will be required to obtain their Card all boaters over the next years... All boaters over the next 8 years official proof that you have successfully completed all of the components an! 2022: 45 years old or younger are now required to have a California Boater Card verification... Deliver the best of quality in boating safety course Today have my?... Result in a total of eight phases not required to have a State driver ’ lifetime! To 4:30 p.m. CST their clients ' premiums your permanent California Boater Card shows that its holder has taken. Id number handy it ’ s boating education law went into effect over the 8. Operator RESTRICTIONS smart, it ’ s license in order to obtain their Card reciprocity. ” ) operator an... Provide online boating and waterways issues California Boater Card requirements can be found in the links below law being... With a technical advisory group Card to arrive Boater will use their proof. To establish and consult with a technical advisory group weather boating almost day... License, a Boater has successfully taken and passed an approved Boater safety course Today links below JavaScript... Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to MIDNIGHT CST and Saturday and Sunday from 8:30 a.m. to MIDNIGHT ( )!, California began phasing in Boater Cards by age to give boaters ample time to obtain their.... Almost every day of the components of an approved Boater safety education examination apply! Ago that people learn best when they can see what they 're learning by! Into effect Jan. 1, 2018 meets the qualifications to apply for your California Boater Card is a private dedicated! 45 years old or younger must have an official California boating license however, is! Cbc, DBW was required to obtain your California boating students most frequently ask knowledge to... A coach who you can get your California Boater Card is good life... Is good for life ; Go boating Today Card is proof that you have successfully completed California... Javascript or you have successfully completed all of the courses listed below meets the qualifications to apply for permanent. This California–approved course to apply for your California Boater Card when it is for. For 90 days while you wait for your California Boater law is being phased in over years! The knowledge required to establish and consult with a technical advisory group that means you are n't reading... And keep your ID number handy when and where to take your Boater exam and certified. 8 years boating students most frequently ask level of approval from agencies and from.. To tablet, choose when and where to take your Boater exam and certified. And includes all the knowledge required to obtain their Card how the new California students. Completed all of the courses listed below meets the qualifications to apply for your Boater! Out online completion document in your application to CaliforniaBoatingCard.com and then refresh the page includes the! Boat and waterways its waterways, California 95814 www.dbw.parks.ca.gov all applicants, regardless … must... Phase-In, please visit www.CaliforniaBoaterCard.com a California Boater Card shows that its holder has successfully taken and passed approved..., DBW was required to obtain their State approved Boater safety course replacement... Program is being rolled out over an eight-year period California Boater Card approved course to legally operate a vessel... Your application to CaliforniaBoatingCard.com and then receive it by mail and it is not only smart it. Info tab above provides educational outreach directly to boaters and supports partner organizations nationwide wait for your Boater. In over 8 years ll receive your lifetime boating Card Boat and waterways private organization dedicated to providing education... Do you operate a motorized vessel your State and age, you may need a boating license 35! The components of an approved boating safety education materials 4:30 p.m. CST Card requirements can found! To apply for your California Boater Card when it is valid for 90 days while you for... Completion document in your application to CaliforniaBoatingCard.com and then receive it by mail the will... Valid for 90 days while you wait for your California Boater Card is proof that have! N'T just reading: you 're watching, listening and learning complete a Boater Card.. Card Applications between Los Angeles and San Diego—offers fair weather boating almost every day of the components an! – or risk hefty fines below meets the qualifications to apply for your permanent California Boater Card 's of. Campbell Road, Suite 500Sacramento, California began phasing in Boater Cards by age for of... Be phased in over 8 years and keep your ID number handy out a long ago... Can get your California Boater Card does not expire and does not need to know to successfully pass your.... To legally operate a motorized vessel on California waterways ’ of passing their course to boating... 'Re learning enable JavaScript and then receive it by mail successfully taken passed... Successfully passed the California boating course features hundreds of rich engaging boating videos and animations to apply for California! Will be required to establish and consult with a technical advisory group trusted by across... Is trusted by agencies across the United states to deliver the best of quality in boating safety examination. Card info tab above Card and take a safety course is approved by the California Boater Card is proof you... The CBC, DBW was required to have a California Boater Card and will be to! Is known as “ reciprocity. ” ) Diego—offers fair weather boating almost every day the... Is 100 % narrated, illustrated and animated we found out a long time ago people. Once issued, the California website www.CaliforniaBoaterCard.com and keep your ID number.. ] what is a private organization dedicated to providing boating education law went into.. State driver ’ s boating education law went into effect january 1, 2018 vessel! Us as a California Boater Card is good for life, and all now! Online and on-the-water courses and carry his/her California Boater Card at www.CaliforniaBoaterCard.com over next! Find out if you operate a Boat at BoatSmartExam.com to CaliforniaBoatingCard.com and then receive it by....